Heart to Post

About Creepy Creepers, Hairy Biters And Dirty Bloody Fingers

After last week I’ve decided to quit Facebook ánd LinkedIn. It’s just not worth it if I never spend time on there anyway or when all it does is give me a head ache and a feeling of anxiety (something about panicking over being behind in life). Anyway, the only social media platforms I’ll be using from now on (and officially from 2022 on) are Pinterest (you are welcome to follow me – I always follow back. Stalking goes both ways, you know ;)) and WordPress (duh! Can’t miss you guys!)

Animals share with us the privilege of having a soul

• Pythagoras •


My avocado plant is called Coco. I somehow thought it captured her true essence, my mother merely rolled her eyes.

My mum might be the person who does all the planting and watering around here, but I am the one who lovingly talks to everything green (or fluffy – I don’t like to make a difference).

Coco needed some soil in her new, bigger flower pot and I needed some of it for Experiment 5 (or is it 6?) from Pam Grout’s “E2”.

My mother was happy to apply, yet I had to plant my seeds by sticking my finger into the dirt to make a hole for them (EW! How can we be related? Am I secretly adopted? My mum’s happily shoving both of her hands into that giant bag of soil and I shiver when I get a little dirt under my index fingernail – oh, the horror!).

Coco went back to her place at the back of the house, my new seedlings got a place at the front window where I usually sit. So I can, of course, talk them into growing strong.

The next morning a sea of roaming, smaller-than-fruit-flies-yet-equally-disgusting miniature creepy creatures were having a ball all over the floor tiles at the back of the house.

And after vacuuming them twice, after which they simply re-emerged out of seemingly nowhere, yet with a vengeance, we discovered their cousins were having a ball at the front of the house.

I’d told my mother I didn’t want to stick my finger in that dirt, because “who knows what’s living inside it.”

Well, now we know.

We got new soil, and everything is now so(i)lved. (Sorry, couldn’t resist).

Tiny critters, giant consequences – yes I just made that up. I simply like this song 😉

So that was one index finger’s tale. Now see what happened to the other one this week:

It got stapled. Heavily.

There’s even some bruising around the holes my grey little hairball Dorian made in them with his immensely sharp teeth!

What I did to deserve this?

I had Dorian in my left hand, Meeko in my right and thought, after months of being in the same cage, but separated from each other by an ingeniously built divider made out of double layered chicken wire and wood, they would like to sniff each other face to face.

And, maybe, share a few seconds sitting together on one of my hands.

Well… My left index finger concluded it didn’t quite like how that plan worked out, two bite marks with accompanying bruises richer.

My right middle finger, however, has threatened to leave me if I ever do that again, seeing as its top was practically lacerated…

Poor Dorian, he never bites! He must have been so scared… 😦

And so I’ve learned two lessons: always trust your instincts when it comes down to soil or dirt (EW EW EW), and: do not upset tiny creatures with sharp teeth.

Ever.

I need to build patience for my gerbils and I have two aching fingertips to help me remember that.

Nevertheless, I hope to see them reunited one day soon ❤

How was your week? Did you learn (or teach) anything new?

11 thoughts on “About Creepy Creepers, Hairy Biters And Dirty Bloody Fingers”

  1. Oh my goodness, I can relate to your story so much! While.I don’t necessarily get grossed out by tiny critters or soil, I just can’t seem to keep a plant alive😂 My parents on the other hand, seem to do it so effortlessly!
    I’m constantly amazed by your gerbil tales – they can do quite the damage inspite of being so small. Hope your finger is healing well!

    Liked by 1 person

        1. Honestly, though, I’ve had gerbils since 2008 (on and off) and this is the first set that’s given me any issues. So in general, they’re kind, loving and social. I just got some weirdos, lol, but love them for it anyway.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Aw haha, I guess they can be like people in that sense! I’ve never had small pets before except a turtle but I’m looking forward to getting either a hamster or a gerbil sometime in the future.

            Liked by 1 person

            1. If you do get a gerbil: get 2. They need a buddy (even with a divider between them). But hamsters are cute, too.

              What am I saying?? I love all animals, so I’m biased on this topic anyway, haha 😉

              Liked by 1 person

  2. Not a bad music video this week Samantha; however, I headed back to the 50s with The Monotones. They have the choreography, the suits and a literary topic about a book. (Smile)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Actually, this was the other one 😂 I think he wanted some extra attention, too, lol. Well, I do think about him a lot during my days now. I did not realise we use our fingertips this much 😅

      Liked by 1 person

Come on, leave a comment! You know you want to...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.