Heart to Post, Writing Challenge

About The Places I’d Go…

“Often, bumpy roads lead to beautiful places”Dave Martinez

Whoops, there life was, getting in the way of my plans. Sorry about that.

Then again, most of you are probably used to me being MIA every so often. I guess I just didn’t want to let you down 😉

Life has actually been very busy, with tons of ups and downs as is natural. But today I am back to picking up where I left off, as I am determined to bring this writing challenge to a good end (just when that end will be remains a mystery).

#5 – List 5 places you want to visit:

Just 5?

Well… that’s a bit of a let-down. Or a challenge, depending on how you look at it 😉

In the light of COVID-19 I’d say even a short list of 5 places reads as a drama story, considering I won’t be visiting any anytime soon, but oh well. I am not the only one and like Einstein (presumably) said: my imagination can take me anywhere.

But as soon as my money peaks and the borders open, here’s where I’d like to go:

5. Tirol

I once started a private list of silly things to do in foreign places and guess what’s to do in Tirol? I am thinking much more than learning how to yodel, but at the same time: why not? I can definitely visualise myself on top of a mountain in a short skirt, surrounded by cows and other quirky people like me, yodelling our hearts out*. After a few drinks, of course. And in the right company.

* Please do not make me any wiser if learning how to yodel in Tirol is nothing like this…

4. Japan

Next on the list: Kappa fishing in Japan. Don’t laugh. Don’t judge. Don’t growl at me either! I saw this in a documentary about Japan and it seemed like just the thing I’d do. I like cultural spirituality, and much like elves in Iceland and trolls in Norway, this sounds like a fun afternoon to me. Plus, with my worm-phobia fishing with a cucumber as bait seems like a great plan!

3. Jukkasjärvi

What’s wrong with me? The moment the temperature outside hits below 10 centigrades I stop feeling my feet and start complaining about hypothermia, yet I feel the very strong desire to spend a night in an ice hotel!? It doesn’t even have to be Jukkasjärvi, anywhere in Sweden is fine (although I probably had you re-reading that twice, didn’t I?)

2. Wicklow

Oh, woe to me! With a weekend-birthday this year I had Great Plans to visit Ireland in a cottage in Wicklow. Do some hiking, visit my beloved Dublin, maybe even attend an Oscar Wilde-play. Find pure happiness in a pure environment. Why, COVID, why!? (My back-up plan is visiting a panda-infested zoo, so I’ll be alright. The ‘woe me’ is for dramatic purposes only – I’d rather be healthy at home than running free in Ireland, potentially getting sick or making others so.)

1. Seljalandsfoss

Mark my words: I will walk that path behind that waterfall one day! Iceland might be freezing cold (again: what is wrong with me? My feet really don’t like me…), but somehow it’s nested itself comfortably in my heart. I cannot get this country out of my head! Truly everything I saw there was worth going back, and then some. Plus, crazy or not, I’d like to try some of that cured shark…

There are many more places I’d like to go one day. I have yet to visit Oscar’s grave in Paris, for one. Or walk (yes you read that right) the marathon of Médoc. Eat a true Wiener Schnitzel in Vienna and stay overnight at a panda hotel somewhere in China that I once saw featured on TV.

But the five places above… they pull at me the strongest.

And seeing as they’re all pretty costly, I best begin saving up 😉

 

 

 


What places would you like to visit? Let me know in the comments or take on this challenge yourself – let me know if you do! (You can find the original and full challenge here)

9 thoughts on “About The Places I’d Go…”

  1. I’ve been to Iceland! It is an incredibly beautiful country. I would love to go again. I don’t know when that would be though. So, no visit to the U.S.? Lol. Probably wouldn’t be on my list either. I hope you get that chance to visit at least one of these soon in life.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow… Reading your blog made me visualize what it’s like to be “alive” again. Iceland & Greenland have been my numero uno place to travel. I haven’t yet because obviously money hehe. The Secret Life Of Walter Mitty has been favourite movie of all times….

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh yes, Greenland is on my list as well. Too many places, not enough money (or time). Too many health risks as well 😅
      I haven’t seen that movie yet, but I have a feeling I should.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. For me also, it would take a lot of thought to reduce my list to five places. So far I’ve only been in two countries (USA and Mexico) and barely more than half of the fifty states. I guess I don’t get out much. J.

    Liked by 1 person

Come on, leave a comment! You know you want to...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.