Writing Challenge

About What Someone Told Me About Myself That I Never Forgot

“May my soul bloom in love for all existence”Rudolf Steiner

“You have an animal soul,” his words sometimes still ring in my ear. I cannot tell you who he was, because I don’t know.

It was in 2016, on holiday in Canada, touring through a region that used to belong to the First Nations, when I stumbled upon a wise old man who told me I have an animal soul. I’ll never forget these words, for every time I lovingly stare at my pets, cry over koalas with burn marks or coo over  saved animals in the news, I am reminded of them.

With these words I embark on another writing adventure regarding the 30 Day Writing Challenge:

“You have an animal soul: animals sense your kindness and take a liking to you, as do young children.”

I have mentioned all my nephew and nieces either go through or are having an “aunty Samantha-phase”, right? As did the granddaughter of a cleaning client I only met twice, but who pretended to be me for a long time after (she’d drag her toy hoover everywhere).

Have I also mentioned I sometimes feel what animals feel? In Scotland, at a donkey sanctuary, there was a pony who caught my attention. All of a sudden, while looking into his dark eyes, I felt an overwhelming sense of sadness.

I don’t know why that pony was there, but seeing as it was a sanctuary for maltreated animals (mostly donkeys, but they also had llamas, ponies and some sheep) I can only imagine…

And then there was that one horse in Finland, who got upset because I took photos of all the animals and he was scared I’d forget him. He posed when I focused my camera on him. And finally stopped his screaming.

When there’s something off with my pets I can always tell, and even if I can’t put my finger on the exact problem I’ll know where to look because of how they make me feel (anxious, stressed, scared, sad).

And there was that one cockatoo at the zoo a few weeks ago who went crazy every time I passed his cage. Wanted me to pet his tummy (so sweet!) ❤

The list goes on, really. And I DO love animals! A lot!

So yes, these strange and surprising words have an effect on me today still, even if they were uttered over four years ago.

I have an animal soul. And I am proud of it ❤

 

 

 

 


What has someone told you about yourself that you’ll never forget? Let me know in the comments or take on this challenge yourself – let me know if you do! (You can find the original and full challenge here)

5 thoughts on “About What Someone Told Me About Myself That I Never Forgot”

    1. Who knows. I just think that emotions are real, for humans and animals, and when you choose to open up to them you can sense what your pets are trying to tell you?

      Liked by 1 person

Come on, leave a comment! You know you want to...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.